Love makes good impressions and is unconditional…

Standard

Day 9 and 10…I’m not really in the mood to blog because things haven’t been going swimmingly lately but I skipped yesterday so I have to catch up. I actually asked him to come back the other night and he said maybe in the future so that is a big improvement from, no I’m never coming back we are done. However it has been a challenge lately. I was reminded that I’m about to the part of the book where, in the movie, the main character started getting frustrated because he was working so hard with little to no rewards. I know that I just have to keep working and soon I will start to see progress, I just wanted this to move so much faster than it is. I know that is unrealistic but it’s human nature to expect immediate gratification.
So day nine’s challenge was to start thinking about the way you greet your partner. Do you act happy to see them every time, as you would a friend or co worker, or even a stranger like the person ringing up your groceries. To start acting legitimately thrilled to see your partner whenever you see them, even if they were only away from you a short time, is bound to make them want to be around you more. Think about it, would you want to come home to someone to barely notices you are there or to someone who acts like they could barely stand you being gone and greets you with a huge smile, or a hug and kiss? This one has been fairly easy, especially since right now I am genuinely happy to see him every chance I get to see him! We aren’t quite back to the hug and kiss stage, as much as I would like us to be, but I make sure to flash a huge smile and give a great big “HELLO!” every chance I get.
Day ten is about doing something out of the ordinary to prove your love to them and to show them you are thinking about them. These ones aren’t super easy since I’m not with him very often. I chose to clean up the entertainment center and organize the movies and games of his that are here. I also dusted his Xbox and cleaned the finger prints off his TV. It wasn’t much and I’m not sure he noticed but I did it with love and that’s what matters. I know he won’t always notice the things I am doing, which was evident in his comment yesterday that he has not noticed any changes. That one was very hard for me to take, I have worked so hard and pretty much changed everything about me in order to make him happy and fulfill his needs. I spend most of my free time either doing things for him or reading about how I can make him happy and want to be with me again. So to be told that nothing has been noticed did not go over well. I don’t know if he was telling the truth or if he just doesn’t want to admit that I have changed, or if he really just doesn’t care enough to have noticed a difference. Either way, I was thrown for a loop. It is the reason I did not blog yesterday. I had to take a little while to think about whether or not I want to continue this.
My decision was yes, for a couple reasons. A) regardless of the outcome, doing this will better me as a person and make my next relationship that much stronger assuming we really do not work out. B) If we do not work out, I could not live with myself knowing that I did not do everything I could on my end to make it work. So I will keep on trying and I will keep on praying and I will keep on doing all I can to bring my family back together.
Today’s challenge: meeting your partner’s needs. Let’s see if I can get him to come over tonight so I can work on meeting both our needs 🙂

Leave a comment